Chipping Teeth

The feeling I get from this song is of swimming underwater, with the bright sun shining through the surface, free of having to touch ground all the time. Floating, gliding, propelling yourself forward through this ocean of song. Don’t have to breathe down here, the music keeps you alive.

It’s like these songs grab my face and demand my attention when they’re new and we’re getting to know each other. I learned this Japanese word recently – boketto – meaning “the act of gazing vacantly into the distance without thinking”. This is what I did with Chipping Teeth. I need a similar word which means “gazing vacantly into the distance feeling the music.” Absorbing it, making it a part of me. ‘Cause that’s what I do.

Watch and listen to Kristin Hersh’s Chipping Teeth:

Leave a Reply

