RatGirladoxical Undressing

To say I’m stunned after seeing Kristin Hersh’s Rat Girl performance at The Getty last night would be an understatement, to say the least. It was incredibly moving. It will stay with me forever. No longer will I read the book the same way, no longer will I hear those songs the same way either. This is not a bad thing, but it runs deep.

I’ve seen Kristin do readings before, I’ve seen her play the songs which go along with those too. But this? This was far different. The way she read the passages from Rat Girl made me feel like it was 18-year-old Kristin telling the story. It became much, much more real. I felt like I was there watching Kristin speak with Betty, seeing her stick a cigarette in her shoe on the beach. Coupled with the colorful beauty of Molly Cliff-Hilt’s artwork projected behind, it was pretty intense.

I sit here in stunned silence, I’ve never been quite so moved.

One thought on “RatGirladoxical Undressing

  1. melz82 says:

    I remember! I wrote something on this, too, sitting on a bus along the boulevard in the few days after the Getty show…

    Stunned silence, too.

    I think it is the imagery that remains with me the most – as it always did fifteen years ago when I first heard Throwing Muses – I knew ‘they’ would be a huge part of my life.

    And for that, I am so glad – and as you say, lucky.

Leave a Reply

