Season Sessions Spring

This is an excerpt from an email I wrote Kristin, with the personal stuff removed and edited only to make sense to the reader.

RE: The Letter.

This is more intense than ANY other performance or recording of this song that I have ever seen or heard.

I was OK with it until “I’m…I’m”. But at the same time the drums are really building and they’re just pounding the fuck through me and it’s 1984 and I’m there in that video that Echo made and I feel the electricity buzzing through me too.

Thank god for Catch and it’s happy little vibe. A small bit of levity for this heavy antithesis to the brightness of Spring. Or maybe that’s the point. Grind me up, spit me out, I’m a mangled, bloody mess and I’m ready for rebirth too.

I keep thinking about how Kristin wrote the book in her 18-year-old voice, and we’ve always had these songs IN that 18-year-old voice. Those are the real thing, but hearing these re-recordings as a present-day reflection upon that time kind of takes you full-circle. It’s a truly incredible experience, really, even though I get a real sense of the true feelings and it’s not always easy. It’s not supposed to be, and I don’t think I’d have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

