Going back

There’s A LOT to be said for initial reactions to songs. It’s fun when they hit you immediately, full-on and strong. Sometimes they don’t and might take a while. It’s funny how they’re all different.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how you perceive songs years later, how that one song that hit you head on may not be the one that’s your lasting favorite. I think this happened to me with Deep Wilson. That was the one song I loved so much, even before The Grotto came out, I totally expected it to be my favorite song on that record. So pretty, so sad… So sad that my eldest daughter always made me turn it off. The violin makes her cry. Seriously.

Years later though, I’m not sure I can even pick a favorite off that album, I’m not sure I’d want to. Snake Oil? Arnica Montana? Vitamins V? Those 3 consistently fight for top billing.

Anyway, apparently, way back, Fortune did hit me immediately. I went back and found what I wrote about it back then. I’m not sure what happened between then and now, but I bet something was going on between September and January (school? holidays? more holidays?) that made me lose track of this fabulous song. It’s nice though, to “rediscover” it now, I think. And to be able to look back at it in the context of all the Speedbath songs. It DOES stand as one of my favorites, and deservedly so.

Leave a Reply

